Bollywood!

I’ve been bitten by the Bollywood movie bug. I stumbled on them first on Netflix a couple years ago. I was at home with a raging head cold and ramped up on cold medicine. I started looking through Netflix for something to watch. I landed on a whole section of Bollywood movies and fell in love with them. Glowing bright colors, intoxicatingly upbeat music, epic dance scenes, ridiculously funny story lines with impossibly random situations. What is there about all of that not to love? Every chance I could get I would pull up a Bollywood movie. Imagine how happy I was when I learned a movie theater very close to me was starting to feature Bollywood movies two times a week. A friend of mine and I sit through as many as we can get to. They are full of life, love and laughter and I can’t get enough!!!

18 comments

  1. Hey, awesome to hear that – I am a creative producer for Bollywood movies with 20th Century Fox in India… Have you seen “3 Idiots”?

    • Hi! Thanks for the comment. I have not seen “3 Idiots” yet. I just looked it up on IMDB and it sounds super. I can’t wait to see it! I am totally at the mercy of what our theater dishes up for us to see – and so I am happily along for the ride. I would really be interested in other Bollywood movies you would suggest. Thanks!

      • Sure I would be happy to do that…”3 Idiots” is the biggest hit of all time in India so a safe choice. Give me an idea of what genre / kind of movies you enjoy and I can suggest. In terms of current cinema, we have some cool indie cinema stuff also happening with amazing thrillers like “Kahaani” and then we have the commercial blockbusters. And also, there’s a whole treasure of old classics and Satyajit Ray…

      • Loved Cocktail. That movie had it all. And on the flip side I also saw Uu Kodathara Ulikki Padathara last week. Being an opera fan helped with that last one. Swap out the language with German and you’ve got yourself the Wagner opera Götterdämmerung. Love, hate, tricky situations, flash backs and redemption.

      • Not sure about Uu Kodathara – it’s probably a tamil film? Cocktail was nice – great music which plays on my ipod constantly now… Did you watch it in the cinema?

      • Yes, I saw Cocktail in a theater in Denver, Colorado showing newly released movies from India. Last week I saw Ek Tha Tiger. Just like you with the music of Cocktail I have the music from both Cocktail and Tiger on my iPhone. I really liked the Tiger movie. I’m a movie nut and see as many movies as I can from all over the world. Denver hosts a really great film festival every fall. Every year I look forward to seeing as many movies as possible. Do you see movies from other countries too? I have to admit I’ve loved them all except from a certain group of movies that came out of Iceland (of all places) that I just could not get in to. I’m sure they had some merit – but i was not seeing it. Perhaps all that lack of sunlight? Hum? Could you suggest the titles of some old classics you mentioned or maybe one or two Satyajit Ray films. Thanks!

      • I discovered an absolutely outstanding South Indian director last week called Vetrimaran. His last film Aadukulum, which is a love story set against the competitive world of illegal cockfighting, won the national award. It’s very City of God. Must-see.
        Yes, I do love watching international movies more than Hollywood movies. I enjoyed Tropa De Elite recently, and normally see quite a bit of Korean cinema. Re old Hindi movies, I would recommend Bimal Roy’s Madhumati, which is still watchable today.

      • Hey, you must watch “barfi” which has been released this weekend – it is a lovely mainstream film along the lines of Amelie or Cinema Paradiso…

      • Seeing Barfi tonight! Thanks for the tip! I’m looking forward to it!

      • Let me know what you think….

      • Oh my goodness! I loved it! It was a wonderful mix of classic movies and stellar character development. It’s complex, it’s simple, funny, serious and the story was so amazing. I can’t tell you how dull and boring American movies have become. I’m so glad I discovered Bollywood. I just read the news that it has been nominated for an Oscar. I’m telling everyone I know about it! Thanks for suggesting that I see it!!!

      • Today’s movie was English Vinglish. Have you seen this one? Wonderful movie! Loved it! The character development and storyline were so well crafted. And the little kid in the movie was priceless!

      • Yes, I just took my mother to see it yesterday and she was clapping and shaking the whole row of seats in the multiplex. I thought it was one of the sweetest movies of the year. This year seems unusually rich in good cinema – next week’s “aiyya” should be interesting too though will have references to South Indian cinema which may not translate.

        By the way, there is film in telugu called “Eega” (The Fly) which is releasing in Hindi as “Makkhi” – it is supposed to be quite a riot and already a huge family audience hit in Telugu and Tamil. If you can believe it, the plot is about a man who is reborn as a fly to take revenge on the man who killed him and to protect his girl from the bad buys. Critics are loving it and so are kids.

      • Hi, Hope you remember me… Bollywood’s #1 American fan. I just added a post about seeing Bhaag Milkha Bhaag. Amazing! The storyline had me racing home to look up the history of the man Milkha Singh the course of events that lead to his remarkable life. I did find the movie “Eega” as you recommended and really liked it. A couple of weeks ago I saw “Ek Thi Daayan” too. Which is amazing since the only genre of movies I steer away from – is horror movies. But this one was palatable and even at times comical.

        I am very much am enjoying your posts to your blog!

      • Hey, of course I remember you… Good to hear from you again! Yes, Bhaag Milkha Bhaag has been amazing at the box office as well!

        Indian movies are undergoing some kind of unprecedented renaissance. One of my movies as an Creative EP, a small legal satire called Jolly LLB was a superhit a few months ago, and since then there have been quite a few films that have amazed audiences.

        Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani has gone on to become one of the all-time biggest hits, though more in the classic Bollywood rom-com mode. A tragic romance called Aashiqui 2 is the biggest non-star driven film ever. And some smaller youth dramas like Fukrey and Kai Po Che have also been extremely successful! Two arthouse films, Ship Of Theseus & BA Pass have made a mark as well. So all in all, quite a treat every Friday for Bollywood fans. And a great coming of age for Hindi cinema.

      • Thank you for the list of recommendations! I’m off to look them up right now. I really do appreciate your recommendations. You are very kind to take the time to keep me the best informed American Hindi cinema fan! Best Wishes, Joan

  2. Thanks for the reply! My most favorite Indian movie so far has got to be Lagaan. It was the first Indian movie I’ve seen and I was hooked from that very day. I also liked Monsoon Wedding and… while not Bollywood – I still liked it… The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. More recently I’ve seen Houseful 2, and Teri Meri Kahaani. Tomorrow I’m seeing Cocktail. I don’t know if I have a type of movie I like, but I’m interested in the everyday situations of Indian life (comedy or dramatic), the scenery, the colors, and of course anything with a huge dance production.

    And… here is an amazing story. My friend and I (who also loves Indian movies) were having coffee today and were talking about seeing Cocktail tomorrow. She and I were also talking about finding a Bollywood Dance class in town (Denver, Colorado). Amazingly there was a young woman sitting next to us who teaches Indian Dance and offered us her business card. We are so excited to start classes.

    I would love to learn a typical Indian greeting for our new dance instructor. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

