Banzai Sushi Restaurant

Several people have asked about the sushi restaurant I have been visiting to sample their menu of 100 sushi rolls. The name of the restaurant is Banzai Sushi and it is on Leetsdale Drive in Denver, Colorado. It reminds me of the small countryside sushi restaurants I visited in Narita just outside Tokyo.

One of the Narita sushi restaurants I visited had a peaceful creek running through the entryway of the door. It looked like an attractive water feature until I noticed it was teaming with unagi (eel). The chefs would reach into the water, retrieve ‘dinner’, slam it on a block of wood, clean it and slice it in seemingly one move. Then they tossed the glistening pieces on a small hibachi to cook to perfection. The eel was then dressed with teriyaki sauce and served instantly. I’ve never had something so fresh or tasty – ever. I could have watched this choreography all afternoon.

Leave a Reply

